Animal-Assisted Interventions in Occupational Therapy
Mini Conference

December 14, 2022
Virtual Mini Conference
5:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. ET/ 2:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. PT

 Speakers Register  Agenda


 Occupational therapists who incorporate AAI into their practice are invited to attend the Animal-Assisted Interventions in Occupational Therapy Mini Conference. You’ll learn from experienced occupational therapists who currently work with therapy animals in their practice, and other professionals in AAI. Gain insight on how you can incorporate AAI in your work and hear practical solutions for navigating the challenges you may face. 

How you’ll benefit:
•    Get helpful tips for establishing buy-in when adding AAI to your practice.
•    Hear applied examples of how therapy animals aid other occupational therapists in meeting their
     treatment goals and how to structure activities for your clients.
•    Learn how to choose and train the right therapy animal partner for the work that you do.
•    Learn how to partner with volunteer handlers so that you can integrate AAI into your practice even
     if you don’t have a therapy animal of your own.
•    Ensure that your AAI is adequately covered by your liability insurance provider.


Who Should Attend:
Occupational therapists, students, and anyone interested in implementing AAI in the occupational therapy field.



Experts and leaders that you’ll hear from: 


Taylor Chastain GriffinTaylor Chastain Griffin, PhD
Executive Director, AAAIP, & National Director of AAI Advancement, Pet Partners
 

Laura PoleshuckLaura Poleshuck, PhD, OTD, OTR/L

Clinical Associate Professor, Nazareth College

Occupational therapist with experience integrating AAT with both children and adults

 

Brigette BelangerBrigette Belanger, DSc, OTR/L
Assistant Professor in the Occupational Therapy Program, Florida Gulf Coast University
Certified in Animal Assisted Therapy and has created courses to help train therapists in the use of animals for therapy

 

Jennie DapiceJennie Dapice, PhD, OTR, BCP
Assistant Professor, University of Southern Maine
Dr. Dapice has practiced, researched, and taught animal-assisted interventions. Her work has included service dogs, hippotherapy, and animal-assisted occupational therapy incorporating a facility dog.

 

Macy BurrMacy Burr, OTD, OTR/L, ATP, CAS
Instructor/Core Faculty, University of Saint Augustine for Health Sciences
Experienced Occupational Therapist

 

David Pearsall
Vice President, Business Insurers of the Carolinas
Liability Insurance Expert

 

C. Annie PetersC. Annie Peters
President & CEO, Pet Partners, the leading nonprofit registering volunteer therapy animal teams

 


Registration

The Animal-Assisted Intervention in Occupational Therapy Virtual Conference is open to AAAIP members and non-members.

AAAIP members: No cost, but registration is required
Non-members: $29
Save on AAAIP membership! Join AAAIP after the conference and your registration fee will be deducted from the first year of AAAIP membership dues (Digital and All-Access levels). A $29 savings!

Register today!

 



Virtual Conference Agenda

All sessions take place on December 14, 2022, on Zoom.

Welcome | Taylor Chastain Griffin, PhD
5:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. PT

How I Got Started in the Field | Laura Poleshuck, PhD, OTD, OTR/L
5:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. PT

Benefits of AAT in Occupational Therapy Settings | Brigette Belanger, DSc, OTR/L
5:35 p.m. ET/2:35 p.m. PT

Applied Practice in Occupational Therapy Settings | Jennie Dapice, PhD, OTR, BCP
5:55 p.m. ET/2:55 p.m. PT

Choosing the Right Animal
6:15 p.m. ET/3:15 p.m. PT

Understanding AAI Insurance | David Pearsall
6:50 p.m. ET/3:50 p.m. PT

Inspiring Professionalization and Standardization in the Field | Macy Burr, OTD, OTR/L, ATP, CAS
7:05 p.m. ET/4:05 p.m. PT

Closing Remarks | C. Annie Peters
7:25 p.m. ET/4:25 p.m. PT


C-AAIS Credit Hours
The conference will provide 2.5 C-AAIS credit hours.

Event Questions
For questions about the event, please contact AAAIP.