Upcoming AAAIP Events

January 2023

Meet the AAI Leader, Dr. Nancy Gee
January 31, 2023 | 3 p.m. ET/Noon PT
Virtual event on Facebook Live. No registration needed.


Dr. Nancy GeeNancy Gee, PhD
Professor of Psychiatry & Director of the Center for Human-Animal Interaction
at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine


As a Professor of Psychiatry & Director of the Center for Human-Animal Interaction at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine, the Bill Balaban Chair in Human-Animal Interaction, and the chair of Pet Partner’s Human-Animal Bond Advisory Board, Dr. Gee is one of the field’s most distinguished leaders in both research and practice. Join us for a 30-minute Facebook Live event to learn about Dr. Gee’s professional journey and her passion for this work. Questions for Dr. Gee are encouraged in the comments section. 

Visit AAAIP's Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/aaaiponline


February 2023

The LEAD Risk Assessment Tool and Other Best Practices from Dr. Nancy Gee
AAAIP Member-only Event
February 21, 2023 | 4:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. PT
Virtual event held on Zoom. Registration is required.

 

Dr. Nancy GeeNancy Gee, PhD
Professor of Psychiatry & Director of the Center for Human-Animal Interaction
at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine

 

Dr. Nancy Gee will take a deeper dive into suggestions for AAI practice including information on how to utilize the LEAD Risk Assessment tool. 

Who Should Attend:
Any professional who integrates therapy animals into their work. The best practices Dr. Gee will be featuring can be adapted to any vocation.

 

The event is free for AAAIP members but registration is required.
Register Button


Mini Conference:
Therapy Animal Training and Preparation:
The Role of Trainers and Behaviorists
February 28, 2023
4:00 – 6:30 p.m. ET/1:00 – 3:30 p.m. PT
Virtual event on Zoom. Registration is required.
AAAIP members: No cost | Non-members: $29

The Therapy Animal Training and Preparation: The Role of Trainers and Behaviorists Mini Conference will provide crucial information to animal trainers and behaviorists working with clients who want to train their pet to be a therapy animal. Key terminology will be discussed and suggestions from field leaders will be provided so that trainers can best educate and prepare clients for AAI.

Who Should Attend:
Animal trainers and behaviorists interested in assisting clients with therapy animal prep, and anyone interested in therapy animal training

 Speakers  Register Button


Recorded Events
Recordings of past AAAIP events are made available to members. Some recordings are available to non-members for purchase.

Event Questions
For questions about AAAIP events, please contact AAAIP.